Sunday: How to Take Advantage of a Rest Day [Active Recovery Workouts]

web-120314krughoff-2314

Sunday is the best day of the week to take advantage of for a rest day. I love it because it’s a day I don’t have work and can fully relax. I can take my time doing a light workout or doing some active recovery.

Active recovery is important to give your muscles time to heal but also to not let there be a huge build up of lactic acid. Any off day’s I try to think of as active recovery so that I don’t become a total couch potato.

On recovery days, especially Sundays, I try and have a big breakfast, hydrate, and stay on point with my macros as to set myself up for success that week.

A typical breakfast on a recovery day: 

  • 4 eggs
  • 4 pieces of bacon
  • 4 oz veggies (spinach, broccoli, asparagus)
  • Garlic & salt season on my eggs (salt is important for recovery!)
  • Tons of water
  • Black Coffee (because who doesn’t need coffee?)
  • 1 cup whole grain, gluten free oatmeal with Cinnamon, chocolate protein powder, blueberries, flaxseed, and almond milk (I add this in if I am really depleated)

On top of this, I usually get some chores done and do the usual Sunday shenanigans. I mostly try and make time to meal prep for the upcoming week and active recovery workouts and pre-hab (preventative rehabilitation).

Pre-hab consists of: 

  • 10 minutes of Foam Rolling
    • Upper back, middle and lower back, glutes, quads, IT band
  • Trigger Point Therapy
    • I take a lacrosse ball and place it under specific areas where my muscles are very tight, specifically my glute med and min and my lower back.
    • Trigger point is effective since it concentrates force into a smaller and deeper area of more specific muscles.
    • Similar concept to foam rolling, force is just more concentrated
  • Stretching
    • Runners lunge
    • Runners lunge with a quad stretch
    • Hamstring stretch with band
    • right and left sitting straddle (to get lower back and hamstrings of opposite leg and side)
    • Piraformis Stretch
    • Pidgeon Pose (favorite for glutes and IT band)
    • Hip Flexor stretch
  • Core & Glute activations
    • Bird Dogs (keep a straight back, hold in lower abs)
    • Hydrants
    • Clam shells with a band
    • Bridge kicks (keeping pelvis still)
    • Hip abductor with a band (keep body straight and core still)
  • Light Bike, Run, Abs, or Yoga – even some light isometric lifting (biceps or arms)

 

Anyways, these are my usual recovery day shenanigans. What do you like to do to recover?

XO Mal

Leave a Reply

