Friday Coffee Date: Losing Direction [Overcoming Every Day Distractors & Comfort]

Screen Shot 2017-03-24 at 10.21.45 AM
Favorite Tea Quote I have ever gotten! 

Comfort. It is something everyone wants but also something so detrimental to living the life you have imagined.

Inspired by this book I am reading right now called: Life is What You Make It by Peter Buffet. 

Your life is just that. It is exactly what you make of it. The stress. The Money. The education. The Obstacles. The beauty. The Sadness. How long you dwell on things. You name it, you make it what you want to be. The book goes through and discusses how we can’t always choose our circumstances or what situations we are born into, our genetics, etc…but we can choose how we deal with them.

Comfort is great and some people enjoy living comfortable lives, other people like pushing themselves in constant search of what they are “meant to do” with their lives.

I feel like this is all about balance.

My goal for this post is to explore the idea of avoiding getting lost in the grind or getting too comfortable, how to always remember where you came from and where you are going.

For me, as a fitness model and as an athlete, when I finish a photoshoot or a big event it is SO temping just to be like, “Ok I made my times for that fitness test, lets EAT” or “that shoot went well, I should get donuts” hahaha!

Yes- those are not bad reactions but often they lead to a spiraling few weeks of getting derailed and into negative routines.

Our daily lives are filled with distractions.

Work gets busy.

People hurt our feelings.

Sickness, broken limbs, muscle injuries, losing your job, going through a breakup.

All of these things can distract you from your goals. It is so hard to mentally distance yourself from negativity and stress to stay focused and calm and remember what you want to do with your life.

Screen Shot 2017-03-24 at 10.22.40 AM
Took this picture Fall 2016: very symbolic of where I was and where I want to go.

 

I have a long term goal of moving to NZ and essentially living and working on surrounding islands in the pacific. From Rugby, to the surf culture, I don’t think I would ever get tired of it.
But I also have to realize where I am at now. I live in Colorado. I have a day job. I also currently play rugby here on a fantastic women’s team. My family is in Michigan, and I love being able to visit them.

So I have a lot going on in the States that might keep me here or distract me from what I want to do . A lot of things here that might end up getting in the way and pushing my goal farther down the road until it is no longer feasible.

What helps the most is setting a time frame of when you want to achieve your goal.

Then breaking it down into steps.

For me my goal looks like this:

Step 1: get a job near home with a raise, so I can save more money 

Step 2: Work hard, save $x a month until January- re-assess my travel budget

Step 3: Continue playing Rugby and improving as a player while I am here!

Step 4: Once Comfortable in my new job, finish my work on my Strength and Conditioning Coach Cert. 

Step 5: Stay Healthy, make my doctors appointments, go to PT, and Spend time with Family where I can 

Step 6: If I am in a good place Financially in January, begin looking into legitimizing my travel plans (flights, teams over seas, places I want to visit)

Step 7: Continue saving, pick a plane flight by beginning of summer 

Step 8: Head out that August, MAKE IT HAPPEN! 

 

Screen Shot 2017-03-24 at 10.23.17 AM
An afternoon at Starbucks well spent. 🙂

This may seem like a lot, but when you think about it, this is work that I will be doing over the course of the next two years of my life. Now, I realize I wont be able to control all circumstances in my life and if things can’t happen in this time frame then we will re-assess. But the point is, you have to make a plan and set a date, otherwise you will just sit comfortable in your desk job, and forget all about what you want to do.

Some things we can’t control, like, let’s say you want to make the olympics. Well, you may just have to try and try until you are ready or actually make them no matter how long it takes.

But with fitness and travel goals, career goals, relationship, or even financial goals. You can control them. Because you can control you and the small steps you take every day to remind yourself of them and complete them.

Like my goal stated earlier, it may seem overwhelming but weekly and daily it is just a matter of working hard at my job, focusing on my personal improvement in sport (mental and physical), being frugal and saving, and taking care of my body (whatever that entails!).

FOUR EASY THINGS!

Then, after time goes by: money is saved, emergency savings is built and I feel better about  my playing ability, career abilities, and level of fitness! When I re-assess my life, basically 1 year down the road from now, I hope that a year of daily work will put me in a place where I can start to legitimately think of and plan specifics of my big trip!

What do I suggest for you, my friend? 

1: Come up with your goal & an Ideal date you want to reach it by.

2: Make 8 solid steps you can take within a year, 2 years or even 6 months to make your goal a reality.

3: Break those steps down, what simple 2-3 things can you do every day or every week to make them happen?

4: Pick a date to re-assess your progress and move forward with where you are at that time.

I hope this post helps! Remember- never forget where you are going or where you came from. Monitoring your progress may not always seem rewarding but when you truly look at things, after days of small little progresses made, you will absolutely see a difference. Even if it takes a while!

Screen Shot 2017-03-24 at 10.22.57 AM
One of the most beautiful sunsets I have seen, never gets old. 

Finally- live in the moment. As much as you want to reach your goal, enjoy the journey to get there because it will be a long one. In the end, it is the daily saving and hard work that make those big steps come to life. So enjoy the hard work. Revel in your ability to live in the moment and appreciate your gift of life.

Sincerely,

Malissa

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

